Illinois Latino Voters Back Clinton Over Trump By 86-10% Margin; IL Asian Americans Support Clinton By 84-12%

For Immediate Release:  November 8, 2016                               
Press Contacts Listed at Bottom of Advisory
Illinois Latino Voters Back Clinton Over Trump By 86-10% Margin; IL Asian Americans Support Clinton By 84-12%
Washington, DC — Below are key candidate questions for the Illinois Latino and Asian American election eve polls, conducted by Latino Decisions and Asian American Decisions. Full toplines and crosstabs available HERE for the Latino poll; Asian American poll findings will be posted online HERE starting tomorrow.
In Illinois, Latino voters back Hillary Clinton over Donald Trump by a 86-10% margin. Nationwide, Latino voters support Clinton over Trump by a historically lopsided 79-18% margin nationwide – a 4:1 margin. By comparison, President Obama defeated Mitt Romney among Latino voters by a 75%-23% margin nationwide, according to Latino Decisions 2012 election eve polling – a 3:1 margin.
 
In Illinois, Asian American voters backed Clinton over Trump by a 84-12% margin.
 
Latino voters in Illinois supported Democrat Tammy Duckworth over Republican Mark Kirk by a 81-13% margin. If elected, Duckworth would be the first Asian American Senator of Illinois.
 
Asian American voters in Illinois supported Duckworth over Kirk by a 78-21% margin.
Both Latinos and Asian Americans in Illinois overwhelmingly backed Democratic candidates in a generic House ballot question. In a question gauging support for an unnamed Democratic or Republican candidate, Latino voters backed Democratic House candidates over Republican House candidates by a 88-9% margin in Illinois and a 83-16% margin nationwide. Asian Americans supported Democratic House candidates by a 66-32% margin in Illinois.
The 5,600 person Latino election eve poll, conducted by Latino Decisions and sponsored by America’s Voice, SEIU, Mi Familia Vota, NCLR, and Latino Victory Project, includes both national figures and results from these twelve target states: AZ, CA, CO, FL, IL, NC, NV, NY, OH, TX, VA, and WI. The 2,400 person Asian American election eve poll, sponsored by AAPI Civic Engagement Fund, Service Employees International Union (SEIU), Asian Americans Advancing Justice-Los Angeles, Asian American Legal Defense and Education Fund, and the National Education Association (NEA) includes both national figures and results from these eight target states: CA, FL, IL, NV, NC, PA, VA, and TX.
Contact: Nicky Vogt at 610-389-1314 or press@americasvoice.org ; Rebecca Katz at 917-699-1456 or aapivote2016@gmail.com ; Camila Gallardo at 305-215-4259 or cgallardo@nclr.org ; Pili Tobar at pili.tobar@latinovictory.us ; Karin Wang at 213-999-5640 or kwang@advancingjustice-la.org ; Sara Lonardo 202-730-7332 or sara.lonardo@seiu.org ; Margaret Fung at 212-966-5932 or mfung@aaldef.org; Miguel A. Gonzalez at 202-491-9532 or MGonzalez@nea.org ; Anna Castro at 619-228-5332 or annac@mifamiliavota.org
###